6 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Jul 31, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

Wow- he hit the mark.* Good for saying what most of the industry is afraid to own up to.

*Even though I disagree with a lot- okay almost everything else- that he says.

Expand full comment
author

Yes, it always makes me uncomfortable when the truthteller is such a generally terrible human being. He gets at the heart of a cultural problem, that of destroying artists -- in particular, female artists -- for sport. Then, of course, in Morrissey fashion, he goes off the rails at the end trying to tie what he's brought on himself to what happened to Sinéad.

Expand full comment

I hadn't seen that quote - thank you for sharing it. I can't stand the author, but he nailed it here.

Expand full comment
author

He's a repugnant human being and I bristle at the fact that he conflates what he has brought on himself with his malignant views with what happened to Sinéad...but the sentiment and vitriol ring very true to me.

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

Sinéad on both her best and worst days could be blunt and mouthy to a degree that could sometimes leave me cringing even as I admired her for it... and yet, at no time have I ever doubted that she spoke from a deep sense of righteousness, rather than wanting to piss people off for the fun of it. I do believe that at her core, she was animated by a moral sense far beyond any rock-star charity posturing.

I’ve never felt any such two ways about Morrissey. He’s a monumental prick, he likes being a prick, and takes his greatest pleasure in being a prick to everyone he can at every opportunity. Morrissey can therefore fuck all the way off. Even when he’s right (as here) he’s wrong.🙄

That said, his point about fair-weather Sinéad fans is well taken. I’d still rather he’d STFU and let someone else make it.

Expand full comment
author

I don't know how I missed this when you posted it, Derek. Apologies. I couldn't agree with you more. Especially this: "At no time have I ever doubted that she spoke from a deep sense of righteousness, rather than wanting to piss people off for the fun of it." And this: "That said, his point about fair-weather Sinéad fans is well taken. I’d still rather he’d STFU and let someone else make it." This thread's weekly life expectancy is about to expire, so I'll try to be better about not letting comments like yours slip through the cracks.

Expand full comment