2 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Dec 12, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

I think our favourite artists are probably defined by our childhoods in some way or another. For me, that means John Romita Sr. I just read your conversation with his son, which I found very moving. The senior Romita's art is how I see most Marvel characters in my mind...though Jack Kirby is a very close second.

Expand full comment
author

I think what you wrote here is indeed how I feel about Romita Sr., too. He *is* Marvel Comics, in my mind, simply because he was really the only Marvel artist I read in my early childhood. By the time I was a teenager, I began to dig deeper into the Marvel catalogue, especially when hardcover collections of old titles began to come out in the late-eighties. That's when I really discovered Kirby.

Expand full comment