48 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post

Barton Fink!

Expand full comment

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas 🤘

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

American Fiction was pretty damned good.

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

Top 3:

World According To Garp - loved the book, an underrated movie with a great Robin Williams performance, the humanity!

The Shining - ‘all work and no play…’

All The President’s Men - what journalism can be, made up deep throat and all

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

AMERICAN SPLENDOR. Just the humanity of it all. The loneliness of creation. In contrast to Harvey Pekar's life as fictionalized in film, it is super hard to go past FEAR AND LOATHING IN LAS VEGAS. I'd read most of Thompson's books before that and Johnny Depp was just so perfectly cast. That manic chaos of creation...

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

This is one of those occasions where my mind largely goes blank so I’m bound to forget something brilliant. I actually only saw Adaptation for the first time last month and it is an excellent film but my favourite would probably be Greta Gerwig’s Little Women which I utterly adored.

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

Can You Ever Forgive Me

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

I know I'm cheating here, because this isn't a film, but the "Backstory!" episode of Mythic Quest (written by Craig Mazin) was so good.

Expand full comment
Apr 14Liked by Cole Haddon

I love stranger than fiction !

Expand full comment
Apr 12Liked by Cole Haddon

There’s one with Sean Connery but I can’t remember the title

Expand full comment

Past Lives should be on the list. Though the film is not explicitly about writers, Celine Song certainly chases the idea of identity through narrative with Nora’s character.

Expand full comment
Apr 14Liked by Cole Haddon

I'm amazed that no one has commented my two favorites:

Finding Forrester: It has Sean Connery in it... how could it not be great?

Stranger Than Fiction: amazing cast all the way around. I don't want to spoil it. "Little did he know..."

Expand full comment

Magic of Belle Isle - the redemption and romance combines well.

Expand full comment

Barton Fink. Just quoted it yesterday. Brillant screenwriting is like genius copywriting; can’t prevent it to pop in your mind at the most random times.

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

Capote .. have watched it 3 times.

Expand full comment

I’m going to go lace-forward (lol) and say Bright Star and Miss Potter ✍🏼 Great question!!

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

I was also going to go for Barton Fink. Not a film as such, but Dennis Potter's The Singing Detective is also up there for me.

Expand full comment

I'm with you on Adaptation, especially in relation to screenwriting. I show that film to my students every term. I also agree that Barton Fink is pretty amazing. Woody Allen's Deconstructing Harry is also worth mentioning.

Expand full comment
Apr 11Liked by Cole Haddon

Was going to add Barton Fink, too. (The story of my experience in Hollywood working with a famous director and going insane in the process. So much so that friends joked about it!)

Expand full comment
Apr 18Liked by Cole Haddon

My favorite is Jim Jarmusch' Paterson (2016), where Adam Driver is playing a bus driver (sic!) and poet who contemplates on the everyday details of life and the subtle beauty that can be found in the mundane.

Expand full comment
deletedApr 16Liked by Cole Haddon
Comment deleted
Expand full comment