20 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Jan 18Liked by Cole Haddon

The introduction of Quint in Jaws during the Amity town meeting.

Expand full comment
author

Yeah, this is a great introduction.

Expand full comment
Jan 18Liked by Cole Haddon

Yes. It’s so rich with character depth and unspoken community dynamics, but it’s also a very formal introduction to Quint!

Expand full comment
Jan 18Liked by Cole Haddon

Yeah tough to beat that. I don't know if any film today would take that much time - which is sad because that's what makes it! That TENSION! WHO THE F*CK IS HE?

Expand full comment
author

It's tension surrounding an introduction. Not "Where's the serial killer in the house?!" And that's what makes it so phenomenal, I think. As you say, very few filmmakers would spend this much time on something like this today.

Expand full comment
Jan 18Liked by Cole Haddon

No introduction, for me, surpasses the xenomorph in Alien. The slow unfurling and balletic descent behind Harry Dean Stanton before we see that hellish, dripping maw! I remember watching on the front row in a packed cinema (a year too young to legally see the X rated movie in the UK) ‘that’s what I call a @**!!**@ monster!’

Expand full comment
author

I applaud you for citing the introduction of a primal monster rather than a sentient being. I don't know if my mind would've gone there for a question like this. Great pick!

Expand full comment
Jan 18Liked by Cole Haddon

Ok sentient being? Jake Blues - ‘one timex digital watch, broken. One unused prophylactic, one.....soiled. Boots, black. Belt, black. One black suit jacket. One pair black suit pants. One hat...black. One pair sunglasses.’ Not quite Omar Sharif riding out of a mirage but.....

Expand full comment
author

Hahahaha, yes, not quite Omar Sharif riding out of a mirage, but it's a great one!

Expand full comment
Jan 18·edited Jan 18Liked by Cole Haddon

I still remember being in the theater opening week, completely riveted and transported by the opening narration of The Road Warrior and how it introduced Max as a culture hero. The editing in this sequence is still amazing. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9n29c-q3_8Q

Expand full comment
author

I haven't watch THE ROAD WARRIOR in several years. Ten or so, I think. Thank you for reminding me how wonderful this opening sequence is!

Expand full comment

Robert De Niro - Mean Streets

Expand full comment
author

It's been so long since I've seen MEAN STREETS, I can't remember this intro. I'll have to look it up.

Expand full comment

Been too long for me too. But I actually think it’s even the very first scene of the film. Just remember it instantly grabbing the attention. De Niro strutting down the street (R Stones ‘Street Fighting Man’ playing?) and he blows up a bin or something. It has been a while ...

Expand full comment

Ah! That's was great! I'd forgotten this moment.

Expand full comment

Clearly it's Darth Vader.. :)

Expand full comment
author

It's a pretty damn strong entrance.

Expand full comment

I dont know about film history but made me think of the pilot of THE WEST WING where Martin Sheen's President Bartlett recites the First Commandment and adds "Those were the days."

Expand full comment
author

The intro of Bartlett in "THE WEST WING" pilot is ICONIC.

Expand full comment

We should Zoom chat. Have thoughts on 5AM if you’re open to that, Cole!

Expand full comment