9 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
author

This is such a haunting question. It’s stuck with me ever since Brittany emailed it to me. There are so many people, so many events, so many moments I would like to erase from history and replace with such a casual encounter as Eve L. Ewing suggests in her stunning poem. My first reaction was Sam Cooke, who was murdered as a young man; it wasn’t so much that I imagined meeting him in a shop as Ewing does with an older Till as I immediately thought of what it would feel like to react to an older Cooke song coming on the radio today, one that reacted to the late-sixties or the seventies. But I have two children and one of the reasons my family lives overseas with them is because of America’s gun violence. I still cannot shake the horror of Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas and the cowardice of the cops who let those children be butchered while they waited outside. And so my answer is this:

I’d reimagine a visit to Robb Elementary several years after the police had done their jobs and stormed the school. I would enter past the memorial that honors the two cops who died stopping the shooter, paying it very little mind because the tragedy would’ve already become the past by then. And I would greet students, the ones who should still be here, and talk to them about writing, about telling stories, about the possibility of them becoming storytellers themselves one day, too, and then I would leave and drive away and forget I was ever there to begin with because it was such an unremarkable school in such an unremarkable part of the country.

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

This is horrifying and beautiful. What is wrong with Americans that they permit this to keep happening?

Expand full comment
author

Brittany, can I ask what moment of tragedy you would heal with a casual encounter such as the one in Ewing's poem?

Expand full comment

Yeah. My mom died before my 1st birthday & I lost my closest aunt a couple years ago to cancer. I think mine would be them helping pit away NY son's laundry. We'd weed through the stuff that's too small and laugh about our favorite outfits on him. And they'd each have something they saw in the store that they just HAD to buy him. Just that moment of shared motherhood would be my choice.

Expand full comment
author

That's lovely, Brittany. Thank you for sharing it. It's remarkable how it really is the most mundane of memories that stick with us, even in fantasy. I don't need to imagine my dead father telling me important things, such as how proud he is of me. I just want to watch him barbecuing chicken on the grill in his backyard.

Expand full comment

I love that

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

It's a bit predictable, but I would say John Lennon. I've missed him terribly.

Expand full comment
author

Have you seen the film YESTERDAY? Writer-director Richard Curtis imagined a timeline where he wasn't murdered. In fact, never even became a Beatle. I don't want to give it away, if you've not seen...

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

I have...reluctantly, at the time. I'm not a fan of the filmmaker's but, as a Beatles fan, I did find myself enjoying this specific film more than I expected. The Lennon twist was satisfying.

Expand full comment