13 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post

The Postman. I know, I know. The movie is terrible and nothing like the book. I read it as an early teen, shortly after I read 1984 and the two combined to shape how I saw politics. The book itself has some problems, but it definitely reinforced the communal tendencies in my own outlook and helped make me a raging sff fan/wannabe writer.

Expand full comment
author

The film is terrible, but I have very fond memories of the book. Thank you for sharing!

Expand full comment

Thank you for the prompt!

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

Without question, The Blind Watchmaker.

Expand full comment
author

I had a private lunch with Richard Dawkins once, which I am only pointing out because this book made a huge impact on me, too.

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

I want details!

Expand full comment
author

I wish I could give them. The lunch itself was something I had to promise not to discuss, as Richard is a very private man.

Expand full comment

‘‘The Art of Asking’ by Amanda Palmer forever changed how I appreciate resourcefulness. She offers an insightful perspective on how artists find their voice and why it's essential to seek help during their creative journey. Palmer envisions a memorable moment where a young Bill Gates sits with his parents at dinner, asking to use the garage to develop code. In Palmer's book, we are reminded that cultivating community is a pre-requisite for us achieving our goals.

Expand full comment
author

I haven't actually read Amanda's book, but I know the importance of this subject to her (something I wholeheartedly agree with) and I can also tell you we've been flirting with doing one of my artist-on-artist conversations together for a while now. I hope it finally comes together. Maybe I'll tap you for inspiration for a question or two!

Expand full comment

Crossing my fingers that it happens and I'm happy to lend a hand.

Expand full comment

Norwegian Wood - Tokyo Blues by Murakami for a lot of reasons. It's a book that deals with mental illnes, suicidal tendencies and love. I was 18 and my mind was in some dark places at the time. It helped me a lot and it was the first time I came to understand the importance of characters. It was them who hooked me from the first pages and kept me reading the book. I've never cried like that reading a book, neither before nor after.

Expand full comment
author

Well, I'm glad you found the book when you did. I haven't been fortunate enough to read it yet, but you've given me yet another reason to try to find the time to do so. Thanks for sharing, my friend.

Expand full comment

You're welcome, Cole. Tokyo Blues is a unique book in Murakami's bibliography. One of the few without magical realism. I'm really fond of his writing. One of his best collections of short stories "Blind Willow, Sleeping woman" was recently adapted into an animated movie and I recommend you to watch it. It's such a unique experience. But "Tony Takitani" as well or "Drive my car" are worth watching. Don't know if you've ever watched them.

Expand full comment