12 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Sep 25, 2023·edited Sep 25, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

Oh, "The show must go on", by Queen, for one. "My soul is painted like the wings of butterflies/Fairy tales of yesterday will grow but never die/I can fly, my friends". Especially knowing Mercury knew he was about to die.

And in both versions (I mean Nine Inch Nails', with Trent Reznor voice, and the Johnny Cash cover), "Hurt". But I can't pick a specific favourite part for this one. For my tastes, probably greatest lyrics ever.

Expand full comment
author

I won't argue with most of Queen's lyrics, but "THE SHOW MUST GO ON" is especially powerful I think. Though is anything in the song as brilliant as "Flash! He'll save every one of us!"? I'm just kidding. God, I love Queen. The Cash "Hurt" cover is also achingly good.

Expand full comment

Well, I think that U2's "Achtung Baby" has some of the best lyrics Bono's has ever written and I truly love his writing. If I have to pick one from the album, I'd say "Zoo station"

"Time is a train

Makes the future the past

Leaves you standing in the station

Your face pressed up against the glass"

Back in the late 90's-early 2000s, when I wrote songs, I've always dreamed of writing something both so poetic and true...

Expand full comment
author

There is a mystery in this world I have never adequately answered: why doesn't U2 resonate with me like they do for so many others? I've seen them live and I've listened to their music, trying to fall in love with it. But it always leaves me a bit indifferent. Now I feel as if the problem is I didn't pay enough attention to the lyrics. I'll start with this song, thanks!

Expand full comment
Sep 25, 2023·edited Sep 25, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

Two of my all-time favourite pop lyrics are these ones, which I think distill what it's like to be in love so succintly and beautifully.

From Bruce Springsteen's Tunnel of Love:

"The lights go out and it's just the three of us

You, me and all that stuff we're so scared of"

And when it comes to purely expressing the feeling of falling in love, I absolutely adore the deceptively simple Police lyric:

"Walking back from your house

Walking on the moon"

:)

Expand full comment
author

This is indeed a brilliant lyric: "You, me, and all that stuff we're so scared of."

I've always ached when I hear these words in "THE PROMISED LAND". though I think that might be because of how he delivers them:

"The dogs on Main Street howl

'Cause they understand

If I could take one moment into my hands

Mister I ain't a boy, no, I'm a man

And I believe in a promised land"

That said, "THUNDER ROAD" is just so excruciatingly good. Every line is perfect. "It's a town full of losers/And I'm pulling out of here to win".

If you've never seen JUST FRIENDS starring Ryan Reynolds. he plays a Jersey boy and quotes that line when he leaves Jersey behind at the start of the film.

Expand full comment
Sep 26, 2023·edited Sep 26, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

Love it, love Thunder Road - pretty much quintessential Bruce, isn't it?! I discovered his early stuff when I was 17/18, and the songs on Born To Run were so evocative of this other, exciting, edgy (to me, a teenager growing up in a sleepy, leafy Staffordshire village in the UK!) world, but a world which one still wants to escape (relatable to any teen, no matter where you are - see also Sarfraz Manzoor/Gurinder Chadha's Blinded By The Light!)...

eg these lines from Jungleland --

"There's an opera out on the turnpike

There's a ballet being fought out in the alley"

and

"Kids flash guitars just like switchblades

Hustling for the record machine"

...I could just picture it all.

I'm a big Paul Simon fan too - so many of his lyrics read like a poem. During the writers' & SAG strike it's occured to me that the AMPTP is the "loose affiliation of millionaires and billionaires" he sings about in The Boy In The Bubble ;)

(And - thanks for the Just Friends tip!)

Expand full comment

The Boss! I love his songs! My favorite one is Independence Day:

“Cause the darkness of this house has got the best of us

There’s a darkness in this town that’s got us too

But they can’t touch me now

And you can’t touch me now

They ain’t gonna do to me

What I watched them do to you”

Expand full comment
author

God I love the lyrics in this song!

Expand full comment
Sep 26, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

Oh yes! Independence Day was one of the songs that got me into Bruce. Am a huuuuge fan of his.

Expand full comment

Quirky lyrics get me too

The futures so bright I gotta wear shades

Expand full comment

For me it’s Don McLean songs -

And if she asks you why, you can tell her that I told you

That I'm tired of castles in the air

I've got a dream I want the world to share

And castle walls just lead me to despair

Expand full comment