11 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Nov 21, 2023·edited Nov 21, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

Going quickly from my gut with some film and TV picks, this year I was especially grateful for -

Greta Gerwig and BARBIE - for the reminder to just f-ing swing for the fences, and write/create stuff that you love, that brings you joy, that's just utterly true to YOU. (Because guess what? Other people will love it too!)

Celine Song and PAST LIVES - for the inspiration of such a beautiful film (both aesthetically and emotionally); and the reminder that our own, everyday lives and emotional experiences are important.

Raine Allen Miller and RYE LANE - for breathing life back into the romantic comedy. I know that's a bit of a cliche, but I honestly think this one is a new romcom classic. It's so ridiculously charming, on every level.

ONLY MURDERS IN THE BUILDING and ABBOTT ELEMENTARY - for being consistently, utterly delightful and joyous and providing me and my husband with perfect comfort blanket viewing in what has been a tough year. (Along with our other favourite comfort blanket viewing material FRIENDS - which I've never been more grateful for, including for the life of Matthew Perry <3 )

Sharon Horgan and BAD SISTERS - she's a bit of a hero of mine anyway, but I've been particularly inspired by Bad Sisters. It's funny, but sometimes heart-in-mouth too; it's totally gripping plot-wise; and the tone of it is never too nasty, and never pushed too much for OTT comedy or OTT drama. I just think it's beautifully, beautifully written (and acted).

Oh and one theatre choice! The new production of GUYS AND DOLLS at the Bridge Theatre in London, directed by Nicholas Hytner. I honestly don't think I've ever had a more joyous night out at the theatre, ever. (If you're going, get a standing/immersive ticket - the action happens all around you and it's SO much fun :))

Expand full comment
author

BARBIE is my favorite film of the year so far, which I'll probably write about at some point. RYE LANE is wonderful. I lived in Peckham/East Dulwich/Camberwell where it's set and so it made it extra-special for me. I'm intrigued by "BAD SISTERS", but haven't gotten around to it yet. I think I need to make the time. As for live theater...I miss that. At least these big productions. I rarely get to them with the same casual ease I did when I lived in the UK. Are you in London, then? Sorry if you've mentioned that and I forgot.

Expand full comment

When I was in Rome, I had a chance to swing by the Museo dell'Ara Pacis to see the stunning and inspiring Helmut Newton "Monstra" exhibit. It was everything I wanted from a Network retrospective (I'm writing about on my Substack should be out before end of the month). I don't think I've an exhibit of his work that ranged from his early days in the late 1950s to his final works in the early 2000s. Really remarkable. Reminded me how much I miss that kind of provocative/naughty photography.

Expand full comment
author

I'm so jealous you got to see this exhibit. I think I could spend months in Rome just drifting in and out of exhibits like this. I look forward to the Substack article!

Expand full comment
Nov 20, 2023·edited Nov 20, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

I was at the "Basquiat X Warhol" exhibition at the Louis Vuitton Foundation in May. The exhibition, really astonishing, was followed by a unique tribute concert by Gims, a very famous french rapper/r&b/pop singer. We were few, selected, as the Foundation's auditorium is really small and it was an incredible evening. What I found out, later on, is that part of the audience was composed by young college students coming from Paris' slums. Gims did this concert at that specific exhibition especially for them, to show them how art can inspire a life change. It was really remarkable, we shared an unforgettable moment.

Otherwise, the other unforgettable piece of art I've seen in 2023 was "The Anti-War Trilogy" by Nobuhiko Obayashi. I've started with the last movie "Hanagatami" which I discovered by chance during this year's Japanese Film Festival Online. It was such an amazing piece of cinema, like anything I've never seen before, so I decided to watch the other two movies. The way Obayashi works with blue screens, photography, editing, the pacing, the narrative... it's really artistic yet still entertaining! It's experimental moviemaking filled with warmth.

Expand full comment
author

The "Basquiat X Warhol" exhibit sounds amazing. One of the downsides of living at the ass-end of the world is how rarely I get access to exhibits of that magnitude here. Fine art exists everywhere, but the privilege of shows this big is limited to a handful of countries - which I don't think we discuss nearly enough.

I don't know Obayashi at all, so you've inspired me to learn more. "Experimental" will always intrigue me. Thank you for the suggestion!

Expand full comment

You’re welcome Cole! It’s always a pleasure to share.

Expand full comment
author

I enjoy this weekly question for that reason. As you know, Substack is a dynamic forum. Things change as you experiment to find a thing's best form. As I add a couple of other features for paid subscribers in the new year, I wonder if you have an opinion about keeping the weekly question's comments limited to just paid subscribers. Comments sections in paid articles would remain so, but should I open these weekly questions up to more people to make them more robust and communal?

Expand full comment

Considering the nature of this specific feature, it could be interesting making it open to everyone.

Expand full comment