13 Comments
Commenting has been turned off for this post
Sep 18, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

I'm with you, Cole. When I'm lower than the screen, I know what I'm looking at. IMAX seating is even more problematic for me because I don't know if I should be looking up or down. It's very distracting.

Expand full comment
author

Don't get me started on IMAX.

Expand full comment
Sep 18, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

I can assure that those seats in the theaters aren’t at Citi Field, or any stadium I know of, lol.

Expand full comment
author

Ha! Fair point.

Expand full comment
Sep 18, 2023Liked by Cole Haddon

I like the seating at Alamo Drafthouse better then the stadium seating.

Expand full comment

I don’t hate it but surely I prefer the classic movie theaters. Anyway, I must confess that my dream, if I ever grow tired of writing, is to open a movie theater focused on classics and invisible independent movies from all over the world.

Expand full comment
author

Yes, I've always wanted to open a cinema, too. I don't know if you've read about it, but Quentin Tarantino bought my favorite revival theater in Los Angeles a decade or so ago to save it. It's called the New Beverly and it exclusively shows movies on film. It's a glorious little shithole I love so much - and it doesn't have stadium seating.

Expand full comment

I didn’t know and it sounds great!

Expand full comment
author

Here's a story about the New Beverly Cinema: https://deadline.com/2014/09/quentin-tarantino-new-beverly-cinema-takes-over-theater-830233/

Tarantino did it again a couple years ago, this time buying the Vista in LA. Each theater has its own personality and he has each programmed to match that. https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/business/business-news/quentin-tarantino-buys-vista-theatre-sunset-hollywood-1234977694/

Expand full comment

Thanks!

Expand full comment

I love stadium seating. I don't have to deal with tall people blocking the view but I understand what you mean in regards to the old style movie seats. Although I think nowadays because movies are longer I would prefer comfort.

Expand full comment
author

Movies were actually pretty commonly longer in the silent and classic cinema era. Silent films regularly clocked in at over three hours. Epics pushed them to the three and sometimes even 3.5 hour mark in the fifties and sixties, too. You bring up a good point, because I'd much rather endure LAWRENCE OF ARABIA or THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE UGLY or DOCTOR ZHIVAGO in a comfier seat. I just don't see why I can't do that on a gently sloping floor - looking up.

Expand full comment

Going to the movies is like going to a concert for me these days it's very rare when I do it, especially since Prince died and Sonic Youth broke up. I like watching movies in the comfort of my own home so I can turn on CC or rewind a cool scene. That being said they need to fix streaming compensation for everyone involved. These tech companies are taking advantage.

Expand full comment